As some of you may know, I’ve recently become a member of the Girlfriend’s Cyber Circuit along with amazing authors such as Megan Kelley Hall and Melissa Walker! So this week, fellow Girlfriend Carrie Jones is stopping by my blog to answer some questions about NEED, and glamor–because you KNOW I’m all about the glamor! 

But first, a little about Carrie and NEED!

Zara collects phobias the way other high school girls collect lipsticks. Little wonder, since life’s been pretty rough so far. Her father left, her stepfather just died, and her mother’s pretty much checked out. Now Zara’s living with her grandmother in sleepy, cold Maine so that she stays “safe.” Zara doesn’t think she’s in danger; she thinks her mother can’t deal.

Wrong. Turns out that guy she sees everywhere, the one leaving trails of gold glitter, isn’t a figment of her imagination. He’s a pixie—and not the cute, lovable kind with wings. He’s the kind who has dreadful, uncontrollable needs. And he’s trailing Zara.

About Carrie: Carrie Jones likes Skinny Cow fudgsicles and potatoes. She does not know how to spell fudgsicles. This has not prevented her from writing books. She lives with her cute family in Maine, but she grew up in Bedford, NH where she once had a séance with cool uber-comedian Sarah Silverman. She graduated from Vermont College’s MFA program for writing. She has edited newspapers and poetry journals and has recently won awards from the Maine Press Association and also been awarded the Martin Dibner Fellowship as well as a Maine Literary Award and the Independent Book Publishers Association First Place Award for her debut novel, Tips on Having a Gay (ex) Boyfriend.

Jones easily wins readers to Zara’s side, portraying her as a funny, globally conscious teen who also “collect[s} fears like other people collect stamps” (obscure phobias serve as chapter titles). Genre fans will enjoy the sizzle between Nick and Zara as well as the paranormal cast.” – Publishers’ Weekly

“It was a fun read, and I can’t wait for more from Carrie Jones…I’m definitely adding Need to my shelves due to the romance, suspense, and monster element. This goes on the list for those who loved Twilight and “Need” more. I have decided that Carrie Jones NEEDS to continue to write about these characters and add more since I already miss them after finishing Need.” – Diane Chen, School Library Journal

1. What (or who) do you consider to be glamorous and why?

I think glamor is really just a perception. I mean, someone told me that they thought being a writer in Maine was glamorous! And I was all, “Let me list the reasons it is not.”

Those reasons are:

1. Dog hair.
2. Mud season.
3. A laptop that has sticky keys because of dog drool.

So, I think glamor has this aspect of falsehood about it. It’s a desire for something we don’t fully understand. It’s the showing of the good without the bad. It’s an illusion, a very pretty illusion. 

2. If you weren’t a writer, what other career would you like to attempt?

I’d like to be a human rights attorney.

3. What is the one article of clothing in your closet that you can’t bear to part with? 

My black tights. So witchy…

4. Who is your fav celebrity? 

I don’t think I have one. I used to have a crush on Viggo Mortenson though. 

Other than him…. Probably Grover. 

5. If you could put together a “dream cast” of the big screen version of your book, who would play the leads?

Zara – A young Jennifer Garner
Nick – Gael Garcia Bernal
Issie – Isla Fisher 

6. Britney: Comeback or train wreck? 

Train wreck that people are starting to not want to watch any more despite all the blood and gore. Poor Britney.

7. What is your fav glam or exotic location to visit? (Mine’s Paris!) 

Paris is so good. You’ve already taken it though, so I’m going to go with the Pyrenees Mountains, which are between France and Spain. I love it up there. 

8. Which character in your work do you most relate to and why?

I relate to all of them, but Zara is really close to me right now because I really believe in facing your fears, and not being passive, and liking cute boys who smell good. We’ve both lost our step-dads, too.

Thanks to Carrie for stopping by, and don’t forget-IN TOO DEEP hits shelves in JUST 6 DAYS!!!! 

IN TOO DEEP

Pre-order your copy today on Amazon.com! 

To read more about Carrie, go to her website

XO
JB

*Originally posted to MySpace on 12/30/08*

