What Would Emma Do?

Hey everyone!

How lucky am I that Eileen Cook, fellow member of the Girlfriend’s Cyber Circuit, agreed to stop by and pay me a visit?  Eileen’s novel WHAT WOULD EMMA DO? is in stores now, and looks amaaaaaaazing!  But don’t take my word for it–see for yourself!

About WWED:

Thou shalt not kiss thy best friend’s boyfriend…again….

There is no greater sin than kissing you best friend’s boyfriend. So when Emma breaks that golden rule, she knows she’s messed up big-time. Especially since she lives in the smallest town ever, where everyone knows everything about everyone else….and especially because she maybe kinda wants to do it again.  Now her best friend isn’t speaking to her, her best guy friend is making things totally weird, and Emma is running full speed toward certain social disaster. This is so not the way senior year was supposed to go.

Time to pray for a minor miracle. Or maybe, just maybe, it’s time for Emma to stop trying to please everyone around her, and figure out what she wants for herself.

Since everyone knows that I am hopelessly fascinated by glamor and celebrity, the books I write tend to be based around such issues–as are my questions for the authors who visit my blog!  So without further ado, I give you Eileen Cook!

What (or who) do you consider to be glamorous and why?

I am a huge nut for old classic movies.  Katherine Hepburn, Grace Kelly and Cary Grant.  Everyone looks better in black and white.

If you weren’t a writer, what other career would you like to attempt?

I’m still working part time as a counsellor so there is always that fall back position.  Besides listening to other people’s problems is a very helpful thing for a writer.  However, if I could choose another career I would be a famous actress. The downside is that I have no acting talent, but I’m sure that doesn’t have to hold me back.

What is the one article of clothing in your closet that you can’t bear to part with?

I have a black cashmere sweater that I adore.  It looks equally as good with jeans as it does with a skirt and pearls. I love an outfit that can flex.

Who is your fav celebrity?

Angelina Jolie fascinates me.  I have no idea how she manages to raise a herd of children, volunteer her time with charities, act, be married to Brad Pitt and save small third world countries in her spare time.  Plus she does it all while looking good.  It is possible that she’s an alien life form.

If you could put together a “dream cast” of the big screen version of your book, who would play the leads?

I am asked this question a lot and I’m terrible at having a good answer. I didn’t have anyone in mind when I wrote the book. In my mind all the characters are perfect just the way they are so I have a hard time picturing them as any particular actor because it means changing my mental image. I’m going to answer by saying the book will be cast with new actors on the verge of breaking out into super stardom.

Britney:  Comeback or train wreck?

I fear train wreck, but for her sake I am hoping comeback. The woman seriously needs to choose more wisely in the man department.

What is your fav glam or exotic location to visit? (Mine’s Paris!)

I lived in Europe for a couple of years when my husband’s company moved us over there.  I absolutely LOVED traveling.  My hands down favorite city is London.  Great history, great shopping, great restaurants and amazing people watching opportunities.  I also love Paris, but since I am not fluent in French the opportunity to listen in on other’s conversations was limited.

Which character in your work do you most relate to and why?

I share Emma’s love of curiosity.  Like her I have a tendency to question the status quo. I always want to know more about a subject and there are very few things that I’m not willing to question.  My parents always encouraged me to have an open mind and that I could have any opinion I wanted provided I could back it up.  Strangely, they never did accept my reasoning for why I didn’t need a curfew.

*You can read more about Eileen, her books, and the things that strike her as funny at www.eileencook.com.  Eileen lives in Vancouver with her husband and two dogs and no longer wishes to be anyone or anywhere else.

