Hey Everyone,

Since I’m still getting back on my feet after that nasty concussion which has sidelined me waaaaaaay too long at this point, I’m finding myself doing A LOT of online shopping.  Now, a lot of people don’t know this about me, but as well as being a slave to fashion and footwear, I am also fairly obsessed with perfume. I love searching out exotic scents and smelling incredibly delsih. I love when someone stops to ask me what I’m wearing and where I bought it, and, above all, I LOVE when my boyfriend grabs me, buries his face in my neck and growls those three little words all girls long to hear” “You smell GOOD!”

219002One perfume I’ve picked up and can’t seem to get enough of is Comme des Garcons Avignon. It’s part of their Incense series of perfumes (there are are 5 total), and after experiencing Avignon, I am now hell-bent on collecting them all!   Avignon smells like a dark, damp, gothic cathedral at the height of mass when the priest is waving the incense burner around, and that delicious smell of frankincense and myrrh wafts through the air, tempered by the chill of the damp stone walls.  It’s evocative, haunting, and slightly dangerous. But don’t take MY word for it,  LuckyScent.com describes Avignon as: “Powerful and intense, Avignon evokes the medieval city in the south of France which surpassed Rome as the Catholic Church’s power center in the 14th century. It’s the scent of gothic cathedrals and Papal palaces, of tapestries imbued with centuries of incense. Of cold marble steps, holy relics and dark confessions. The recognizable smells of frankincense and myrrh open the high mass of Avignon, giving way to the almost eye-smarting, gloriously smoky and resinous heart. A dry vanilla and soft Roman chamomile dull the edges of this reverent fragrance. Beautiful, dark and mysterious, Avignon takes its place among the most talked about (and admired) of CdG’s entire line.”

If you’re interested, the notes are:  Roman chamomile, cistus oil, elemi, incense, vanilla, patchouli, palisander, ambrette seeds.

logo_guerlain_grisBut while I was shopping, guess what?  I picked up a present for you!  Another perfumer  I completely adore is Guerlain.  Just the name conjures up their boutique in Paris, and the heavenly scents waiting inside in gorgeously designed glass bottles. Guerlain’s perfumes are classic in every sense of the word, and when I wear Champs-Elysee or L’Heure Bleu, I feel as if I should be wearing a pristine white sundress while skipping through a garden filled with rose petals and sunflowers,  bees and hummingbirds flying about gathering nectar. Here’s what Sephora has to say about Champs-Elysees:  “The Champs-Elysees, birthplace of the House of Guerlain, inspires a fragrance that captures the spirit of Paris at play. Sparkling and vivacious, with fresh mimosa, crushed rose petals, and tart cassis berry, Champs-Elysees was created for the woman who follows her own instincts with confidence and spontaneity.”

Notes:
Mimosa Leaves, Rose Petals, Cassis Berry, Almond Blossom, Hibiscus Seed.

yhst-21893171750723_2039_10121411So, I am giving away a 1.7 oz bottle of Guerlain’s Champs-Elysees EDT. All yours just for commenting below on what your signature fragrance is, or what you love/hate about perfume. I’ll also throw in a SIGNED copy of both THE ELITE and IN TOO DEEP!  The contest will run until March 20th to give everyone time to enter, and it is US only 😦

xx and good luck!

