Hey Everyone!

Amanda Ashby is stopped by this week to chat—aren’t I lucky!  And,  by extension, so are YOU!  Amanda, besides being a kick-ass author, is an awesome chick who loves 80’s movies as much as I do! *Swoon.*  Her new book, ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH, is out this month, and it’s fantastic.  I devoured it in one long, greedy sitting, and like any good addict (or zombie) I immediately wanted more!  But don’t take my word for it, see for yourself!

ZombieQueenSALESmech.inddAbout ZOMBIE QUEEN:

Love spells gone wrong, boyfriend-stealing cheerleaders, and Zombies who want to eat you for dinner.  In ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH by Amanda Ashby, love has never tasted— or rather felt— so good.

Tomorrow is prom, and all Mia wants to do is cast a love spell on her date Rob Ziggerman to keep him away from cheerleading goddess Samantha and save him all to herself. But somehow she ends up inflicting a zombie virus onto her whole class instead. At first Mia loves all the attention her classmates are giving her; treating her like a queen,  compliments galore, and all the chocolate a girl could want.  But then zombie hunter hottie Chase explains they are actually fattening her up.  Why? Because in twenty-four hours, Mia will be the first course in their new diet. That’s what being the ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH means.  She’s sure she and Chase can figure something out, especially when the alternative means that her classmates and teachers will be feasting on her bones. But in the meantime, she’s suggests that no one wear white to tomorrow night’s prom, because she has a feeling that things could get very messy.

About the Author:

Amanda Ashby was born in Australia and has spent the last ten years dividing her time between England and New Zealand. When she’s not moving countries, she likes to write books (okay, she also likes to watch television, eat chocolate and sit around doing not much, but let’s just keep that between ourselves, shall we?). She has a degree in English and Journalism from the University of Queensland and is married with two young children. Her debut adult book You Had Me at Halo has been nominated for a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice award. This is her first book for young adults. Visit her on the web at http://www.amandaashby.com.

Reviews:

“Zombie Queen of Newbury High is a delightfully fun, fresh, and funny read! Amanda Ashby creates a highly likeable heroine in Mia Everett, who, despite her best intentions, turns her classmates into zombies. And with prom quickly approaching, she must find a way to undo it before, well before she gets eaten! Never again will you look at prom, your classmates, or even zombies in quite the same way! ~Alyson Noel, New York Times Bestselling author of Evermore

“Zombie Queen of Newbury High is where popularity can turn you undead (with an unsettling appetite) and Prom will be a little dangerous this year.  Amanda Ashby moves into the YA world with snapping prose and an entertaining high school mix of teen crushes, popularity drama, and a zombie squad. Zombies beware–you’ll love to follow the twists and turns of this fresh and fun novel!” — Kelly Parra, author of Invisible Touch

“Amanda Ashby writes a very entertaining and quick read about a teenage protagonist who has to fix the catastrophic problem she created – or else she’ll never be able to enjoy the ball with Prince Charming. Many readers will be able to relate to Mia and her quirky ways, and others will simply fall in love with her witty humor. And if that doesn’t work, there are always hunks Rob and Chase. ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH deserves the five stars. This is a very original story that isn’t too far-fetched that teenage readers can’t relate at all – it’s the perfect mix of reality and imagination.” 5 stars teensreadtoo

And now, for the same questions about glamor I always ask!  Amanda Ashby weighs in on Britney, her wardrobe, and her amazing new book!

1. What (or who) do you consider to be glamorous and why?

I have a fatal weakness for The Spice Girls so I’m going to say Victoria Beckham. I love Posh – every time I’ve ever seen her interviewed, she’s been so incredibly funny and self-depreciating. Also, I love how she is always so dressed up. I mean she’s got loads of money and obviously loves her clothes so good on her for having some fun with it! Also, someone has to kick start the economy and my vote is on Posh. Now, if only we could convince her to start reading

2. If you weren’t a writer, what other career would you like to attempt?

Because the only thing I love as much as writing is reading, I’ve always liked the idea of working in a library and I recently took a part time job at my local library, which I love! I get to spend the weekends working on the teen/children’s desk talking to kids and their parents about books. It really doesn’t get much better than that – unless of course they wanted to give me a continuous stash of chocolate!

3. What is the one article of clothing in your closet that you can’t bear to part with?

There are two things that I love with all my heart. First is my bright green Converse sneakers which are too cute for words but seriously I’m probably far too old to be wearing them. And second up is the most killer necklace ever known to man (or, in this case women, since let’s face it when are useless when it comes to accessories!). Anyway, it’s in the shape of an apple and has diamantes studded all over it with a little green enamel leaf up the top. Seriously, the world would be a much happier place if everyone owned such a pretty necklace.

4. Who is your fav celebrity?

David Boreanaz because he’s so gorgeous and because I know that one day he will be mine!

5. If you could put together a “dream cast” of the big screen version of your book, who would play the leads?

I’m really bad at this game because I can never imagine anyone else being able to recreate the people who are in my head but perhaps someone like Emma Roberts as Mia and Robert Patterson for Chase. I have no idea who would play Candice but I know they would have fun doing it because that girl seriously stole all the best lines!!!!

6. Britney: Comeback or train wreck?

Is it wrong that I love Britney? The truth is that I feel sorry for her. She’s clearly talented but all that fame and not enough education isn’t always the best combination. Anyway, I’ll always be rooting for her.

7. What is your fav glam or exotic location to visit? (Mine’s Paris!)

Oh, I love Paris as well. My husband and I once spent a week there when we were poor backpackers and it really is the most romantic place in the world. Coming in a close second is Fiji.

8. Which character in your work do you most relate to and why?

When I started writing ZOMBIE QUEEN OF NEWBURY HIGH I had planned to have a kick-ass sort of heroine but instead I got Mia Everett who is an incredibly normal girl. She’s not popular but she’s not a geek either. She’s just a completely regular girl who does one crazy thing and is suddenly faced with a very big problem (aka – she turned everyone into zombies and now has to find a cure or end up getting eaten. No pressure then). Anyway, the thing I like best about Mia is that I think she reacts in a very realistic way to the problem.

You can read more about ZOMBIE QUEEN and Amanda at http://www.amandaashby.com

