LovestruckSummerI am a huge Melissa Walker fan. Back when I was just a baby zygote of a YA author, Melissa Walker took time out of her insanely busy schedule to give me advice, and even talked me through a few writing funks.  Needless to say, I adore her.  But her writing?  That’s something else altogether. Melissa has the rare gift of being able to craft a world so real, that to read one of her books is to disappear into another dimension for a while.  When I read the VIOLET books, I felt that Violet’s friends were my own, and that in reading the series, I was hanging out with Violet herself, not just merely reading ABOUT her.  Let me tell you, folks, characterization like that is hard to pull off!

So I was beyond excited when I heard that she was coming out with a new book, and SQUEE!  It’s HERE!  But before Melissa is gracious enough to answer the same eight questions about glamor and celebrity I always ask, here’s a bit more about her newest scrumptious offering, LOVESTRUCK SUMMER!

LOVESTRUCK SUMMER is the story of Quinn, an indie rock girl who came out to Austin, Texas for a music internship. She also plans to spend long, lazy days in the sun at outdoor concerts–and to meet a hot musician or two. Instead, she’s stuck rooming with her sorority brainwashed cousin, who now willingly goes by the name “Party Penny.” Their personalities clash, big time.

But Sebastian, a gorgeous DJ, definitely makes up for it. Sebastian has it all: looks, charm, and great taste in music. So why can’t Quinn keep her mind off Penny’s friend cute, All-American Russ and his Texas twang?

Sebastian is the kind of guy Quinn wants, but is Russ the guy Quinn needs?  One thing’s certain: Quinn’s in for a summer she’ll never forget!

ABOUT MELISSA:

A former editor at ELLEgirl and Seventeen magazines, Melissa Walker knows her indie rock. She hails from Chapel Hill, North Carolina, and currently resides in Brooklyn, New York. She loves talking about books, fashion, magazines and all kinds of pop culture. Visit her at melissacwalker.com or on iheartdaily.com

1.  What (or who) do you consider to be glamorous and why?

Annex - Kelly, Grace (Rear Window)_01Right now, I’m in a Grace Kelly phase. Her poise, charm and grace–not to mention her quick wit and her flawless fashion–are the epitome of glamor.

2.  If you weren’t a writer, what other career would you like to attempt?

Can I be Grace Kelly in old Hitchcock movies? I’ve seen them so often I know all her lines!

3.  What is the one article of clothing in your closet that you can’t bear to part with?

Probably my bathrobe. Hey, I’m a writer who works at home. I need to be Melissa Shower 0074comfy. (Got a new one at my wedding shower–photo attached. I love it!)

4.  Who is your fav celebrity?

I’ll veer from Grace and choose a living celebrity: Ginnifer Goodwin. Total girl crush.

5.  If you could put together a “dream cast” of the big screen version of your book, who would play the leads?5

taylor-kitschFor Lovestruck Summer, I’d want an unknown alterna-girl to play Quinn. For Russ, I’ll take Taylor Kitsch (Tim Riggins on Friday Night Lights. Swoon.)

6.  Britney:  Comeback or train wreck?

Comeback! I still love B.

7. What is your fav glam or exotic location to visit? (Mine’s Paris!)

I once went to an island off the coast of Mexico, and it was the ultimate in exotic to me. It’s here: verana.com.

8.  Which character in your work do you most relate to and why?
In all of my books, I relate to Violet from the Violet series the most. She’s a lot like me. Quinn was really fun to write, though, and Lovestruck Summer definitely has some of my heart in it–I love both country and indie music!

PS-For a chance to win Lovestruck Summer, plus 3 other great beach reads, go to iheartdaily.com/Harper2009.html

