Heeeeeeeeey everyone!

To say it’s been a while is probably a bit of an understatement, right? But, boy, you look great!  Seriously!  Did you lose weight? *Cocks head to one side and gazes thoughtfully* It’s been a really long time since I’ve updated this blog, but I have a really good excuse! Really! Over the past few years, THE ELITE series came and went, I took a new job teaching at an amazing private high school in Los Angeles, moved twice, traveled to places like France, Italy and Spain, and, last but DEFINITELY not least, I started work on a new YA novel, WHITE LINES, a gritty, coming-of-age story about a girl named Cat who becomes a club kid in NYC in the late 1980’s. Cat comes from an abusive family, and is seriously damaged, and living on her own on the Lower East Side. And, like the title, there are plenty of seductive white lines that take over her nights . . .

Since we’re really talking now, I’m going to get real: writing this book was incredibly difficult, and took the better part of three years. When my agent sold it to Stacey Barney at Putnam last April, I cried like a baby out of sheer happiness and relief. This story is incredibly personal to me because some of it comes out of my own experiences of being a kid growing up in NYC.

The book will be released in April, 2013, and I can’t wait. Stay tuned for the cover reveal on Monday–yes, that means TOMORROW–on the blog Books Over Boys!

And know that even though we haven’t talked for a while, you were in my heart all the time 🙂

xxooxxx

