These photographs, by photographer Kirsty Mitchell, are a great example of how sometimes the most powerful works of artistic expression can come out of a sense of deep grief and extreme emotional pain. After Mitchell lost her mother, a former English teacher, to a brain tumor, she spent years creating this tribute to her memory. The photographs are based on the fairy tales Mitchell’s mother used to read her as a child, and NONE of these images have been Photoshopped. That’s right, NONE, a fact I find completely extraordinary. I especially adore all of the ones with the books, and I think fellow YA author Francesca Lia Block would too 🙂 I don’t know her personally, but sometimes I pretend we’re besties and hang out all the time . . . Oh, you do too?  Great! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

